The Chris Smith List

  • Amount 1
  • Your Info 2
  • Payment 3

Donation amount:
Donation amount:
Donations of £7500 or more will be recorded with the Electoral Commission in line with the normal way
£2,142.00 raised
GOAL: £5,000.00

The Chris Smith List is a campaign fund established by LGBT+ Labour to support lesbian, gay, bisexual & trans candidates standing to represent the Labour Party in Parliament. 

About The Chris Smith List

Orginally know as Dorothy's List, it was renamed after the 2010 election; it has been named after Chris Smith (now Lord Smith of Finsbury) in recognition of his ground-breaking step of being the first British MP to come out as gay. His speech in Rugby 1985 was historic.

We all know there are huge barriers for LGBT+ candidates, particularly women, and our aim was to show our solidarity and support. For the 2010 General Election— we smashed our target raising over £12,000 which allowed us to support Labour's LGBT+ candidates across the country. In 2015 we increased that to £25,000. LGBT+ Labour has extended The Chris Smith List and it now covers elections to the Scottish Parliament, Welsh Assembly, London Assembly and the European Parliament so that we can support Labour's LGBT+ candidates at all levels. 

Donate now

Labour candidates always face the Tories outspending the Labour Party by huge amounts so your help is always vital. A donation to LGBT+ Labour will go directly to the campaign fund of our LGBT+ candidates.

The legal bit

By making a donation via the LGBT+ Labour website I understand and accept the following:

  • If I donate more than £500 checks will be made to ensure my name is listed on the UK electoral register (excluding the Channel Islands and Isle of Man).
  • If I donate more than £7,500 in a calendar year, my name and the amount of the donation will be published on the Electoral Commission's website, although my home address will not be made public.
  • I must use my own funds to make a donation to LGBT+ Labour
  • Donations are not tax-deductible.

Help a openly-LGBT+ candidate now.

Who's donating: from Denmead, United Kingdom donated. Thank you!

Parliamentary Candidates

Daniel Aldridge for Weston-super-Mare

James Asser for West Ham & Beckton

Olivia Bailey for Reading West & Mid Berkshire

Antonia Bance for Tipton & Wednesbury

Danny Beales for Uxbridge & South Ruislip

Polly Billington for East Thanet

Emily Brothers for Isle of Wight East

David Burton-Sampson for Southend West & Leigh

Ben Coleman for Chelsea and Fulham

Deirdre Costigan for Ealing Southall

Joe Dancey for Stockton West

Andy Fitchet for North West Hampshire

Jess Hammersley-Rich for Surrey Heath

Lloyd Hatton for South Dorset

Tom Hayes for Bournemouth East

Josh MacAlister for Whitehaven & Workington

Martin McCluskey for Inverclyde & Renfrewshire West

Luke Murphy for Basingstoke

Luke Myer for Middlesborough South and East Cleveland

Josh Newbury for Cannock Chase

Michael Payne for Gedling

Steve Race for Exeter

Tim Roca for Macclesfield

Tom Rutland for East Worthing & Shoreham

Oliver Ryan for Burnley

Alan Strickland for Newton Aycliffe & Spennymoor

Rachel Taylor for North Warwickshire & Bedworth

Tom Wilson for Richmond & Northallerton

Re-Election Campaigns We're Supporting

Ashley Dalton for West Lancashire

Stephen Doughty for Cardiff South & Penarth

Damien Egan for Bristol North East

Nia Griffith for Llanelli

Gerald Jones for Merthyr Tydfil & Aberdare

Kim Leadbeater for Spen Valley

Simon Lightwood for Wakefield & Rothwell

Keir Mather for Selby